Norm Gilbert
2 min readFeb 28, 2021

--

I donated over $1,000 to ActBlue in the 2020 election. That was a significant amount of money for someone retired and living on a pension. And what did I get for my money? Well, we got rid of Trump. And we have a bare majority in the Senate. But we lost seats in the House. The GOP still controls the majority of the state legislatures..

We didn't get rid of McConnell, we didn't get rid of Lindsay, we didn't get rid of enough Republicans to have functional control of the Senate. All the money in the world didn't make one bit of difference in moving the neoliberal Democrats left.

Because Paul Manchin and Kristin Sinema are voting with the opposing party. And Biden and the party are simply too weak and too fearful to use the hammer of power to bring Manchin and Sinema into line.

Biden has always been in the pocket of the corporations and the donor class. I was hoping that with no chance of reelection due to his age, Biden would stop catering to the big money interests and GET SOMETHING DONE.

No, the tiger doesn't change its stripes. DINOS, Corporate Capitalists, Wealthy members of the donor class are still running the party. And they don't care if 75% of the entire population favors something, they are intransigent and will not do what the people are demanding. GO BIG or GO HOME!

I will not send another penny to ActBlue until I see Biden start to wield his power supporting the people's agenda.

Screw it, I have been fighting the corporate take over of America for over 50 years. I am tired of losing.

NO MORE MONEY to ActBlue. I am unsubscribing from every Democratic mailing. Until the Dems kill the filibuster the Republicans are winning just by obstructing and carrying on meaningless negotiations leading nowhere.

I don't care anymore. Let the U.S. go Nazi. I'm 72, I won't be around to suffer the consequences of a government run by corrupt white supremacists.

I simply will, for the first time in my long life, STAY HOME AND NOT VOTE.

The Democrats have 700 days. They are burning time and accomplishing nothing.

--

--

Norm Gilbert

Fully retired, ex-pat living outside the US. Been a worker, been in a union, owned a business, and had probably 6 different career paths. I write as a hobby.