How One Kiss Ended My 6-Year Relationship

Norm Gilbert
10 min readFeb 15, 2022
Credit: Luliia Prokopiv at Scopio.com

18 years ago, I thought I met the love of my life.

It was a very long time ago when I was middle-aged and not the old man I am now. I met my love accidentally, of course, at a fund-raiser. Isn’t that the way it always works? She wasn’t even there for the fund-raiser, but to meet a girlfriend for a dinner. The girlfriend’s car broke down and the dinner got postponed.

We ending up talking and sharing our interests for 4 hours that first night. We had a lot to talk about, too because we slowly discovered we had much in common. She gave me her number without my asking. That hardly ever happens to me, and certainly not as an open invitation to call from someone so attractive.

This event took place a year after the sudden death of my wife of 17 years, a sweet woman with one adult child who suffered from substance abuse and addiction problems. According to her medical records obtained after her death, she had a cornucopia of mental health issues, including OCD and Bi-Polar disease.

So, here I was after a long marriage, widowed, now single and 56. She was 42.

Looking back to my youth, I was never a hit with the ladies. I was a nerd and just never got the girl I really wanted. My friends fixed me up with one of their sisters so I would have a date…

--

--

Norm Gilbert

Fully retired, ex-pat living outside the US. Been a worker, been in a union, owned a business, and had probably 6 different career paths. I write as a hobby.